Why do I work out?

I just finished a month long challenge of working out. If you have been following me, you have seen my daily updates. For those of you that are new, I challenged myself to workout 20 times in the month of September. And Actually, I went 21 times!  I just needed to push myself a little bit further.

Fotor0930133044

This blog is not fancy, or particularly interesting. I think it mostly serves as a way for me to keep motivated to work out and try to be healthy.  I gained a bunch of weight during my pregnancy with my daughter back in 2011. And since then I have been working on trying to get rid of it.  Slowly but surely, It’s happening. I have already lost 35+ LBS and with this recent workout challenge, I can see such great results.  I feel stronger, I look better… and I have these things growing on my arms — I have been told they are muscles! WOW!

There is a reason that working out, being healthy and fit are very important to both myself and my family.  As I just mentioned I have a daughter.  She is just about 3 years old ( times really flies! ).  My daughter Emelyn was born with a rare genetic condition called Prader Willi Syndrome.  It is a complex and life threatening disorder that has many complications.

10559627_10154345415450184_1023958294_o

My daughter was born with very low muscle tone, so low in fact that she had to be tube fed until she was 14 months old because she didn’t have the strength to suck from a bottle.  She didn’t crawl till she was 19 months old, and finally she started walking at 2 and a half years old! She tires easier and this makes physical activity more challenging for her. Along with the low muscle tone, one of the other main symptoms of PWS is that anytime from the age of around 2 till 8 years old, Her hypothalamus (the part of the brain that controls a lot of things including appetite) will malfunction and stop working.  Her brain will stop receiving the signal of full after a meal… In fact, she will feel like she is in an endless state of starvation. Imagine being super hungry all of the time, with no relief.  When this stage begins, she will want food constantly – wouldn’t you? It will become the first thing she thinks about in the morning and the last thing she thinks about at night.  She will need to be supervised at all times, especially around food, because if she were to get into food alone, she could and probably would eat until her stomach ruptured.  Now, to make matters even more complicated… Her metabolism only works at about 60%. So imagine, you feel starving.. so starving you would eat until your stomach would literally burst… yet, you can only have 60% of the calories that a typical peer could have. It all seems quite cruel.  There are more symptoms, however these are the most prevailing.

Since my daughter was born, we have monitored and counted her calories. I prepare her home cooked meals where I have weighed and measured everything down to the gram so that we have quick and easy meals ready for her. I try to balance them with lots of veggies and a good amount of protein.  Her food and weight have been, and will be micromanaged for the rest of her life. This is what keeps her safe. If care isn’t taken with her food intake, obesity is her future, and with that many more problems.  If you see a person with Prader Willi Syndrome, and they are lean/thin… This is because something is working with them and helping them stay this way. Sometimes I feel like it is a full time job, and my daughter is only 3.

So why do I workout, and try to be healthy? Of course its for myself, to be healthy and fit and look great in that little black dress!… But in a big way, its because of my daughter. I want to always be here to take care of her, I want to be a good role model for her, and I want to be able to show her good workout habits, good eating habits and lead by example.  Her life is going to be challenging enough, I want to give her all the tools and support she needs to take the world by storm… so her future will have endless possibilities!

579824_155935781239490_130899219_n

Now, to finish up my blog post, I wanted to tell you about a place called Sculpt Barre. This is where I have spent the last month working out.  I had gone 5 times prior to my month long challenge, so I had already fallen in love with it. Barre Fitness is a relatively new concept around here, I think there is only two companies in the vicinity that specialize in this technique, and a small handful of other places that offer a class here or there.  While I have not been to any other classes, I can honestly tell you that I couldn’t imagine going anywhere other than Sculpt Barre.  It’s not only the workout that has me hooked, but it’s the staff too.  Everyone is so friendly and kind ( even when they are making you releve in a low plie and hold it for a really slow eight count AFTER your legs have already been uncontrollably shaking for the past minute.)  The results of last month were amazing. I didn’t lose any weight (I didn’t watch my diet very well at all!) But my legs! My legs are leaner and stronger and that is enough for me! I’m able to workout for the entire hour, and not feel like I will pass out from exhaustion, instead I feel amazing afterwards.  I have a lot of trouble with my back and pain in my shoulders ( I think from carrying my child around for longer than I would assume a typical child), and even if I have discomfort before my workout… by the time I get home, due to the stretching and working out, I feel way better. No more injuries keeping me laying down on the couch for days! I really don’t think I can rave enough about this place. I really think everyone should give it a try! I can’t wait to continue on my barre journey with Sculpt Barre, it really is one of my most favorite parts of my day!

10714807_10154601284675184_807555851_n

So, now that my month long challenge is complete… What should I do? I think I’m going to do it all over again!! Barre Challenge… Lets see how we do together for the month of October! 😀

For more Information about Sculpt Barre (seriously this place is AMAZING!) – Check out these links:

https://www.facebook.com/SculptBarre

http://www.sculptbarrestudio.com/ 

Leave a Reply

