90 day Challenge – Day 1

Day 1 – Bikini Body Mommy Challenge (www.bikinibodymommy.com)

Fitness TEST

Today is the beginning of the 90 day challenge. This program, begins with a fitness test, kind of like a way to track your progress. We all have to start somewhere, and what better way to see results than to test and push yourself to see what you are capable of now.. and then recheck it again later to see how much you have improved. Losing weight is great, but getting stronger, faster, healthier is just as great if not greater!

The founder of this challenge describes today’s test as a bit of a killer, stating that we shouldn’t be fooled by its 8 minute duration!

Here is the challenges explanation of today’s goal :

WHAT YOU’LL NEED: A stopwatch or an Interval Timer (set for 50 seconds — exercise/10 seconds — REST). If you have an iPhone, you can download the FREE app I use called “IntervalTimer.”

WHAT TO DO: Think of it as a game against the clock! Complete each exercise for 50 seconds — giving it all you’ve got, then rest for 10 seconds and record how many reps you completed. After your 10 second rest is completed — move on to the next exercise, and REPEAT.

1. SPEED SQUATS
2. HIGH KNEES
3. PUSH UPS
4. SQUAT JUMPS
5. TRICEP DIPS
6. BURPEES
7. ALTERNATING LUNGES
8. ELBOW PLANK

 

Below are images from her site, describing each of the actions.

Speed Squats
High Knees
Push Ups
Squat Jumps
Tricep Dips
Burpees
Alternating Lunges
Elbow Plank

The site stresses the importance of not taking more than 10 second break between exercises…. possibly to try and kill us 😉

*****If the images are too small for you to see what they say, Just click on them and they will open up to a larger image.*****

How I did:

I found the the fitness test to be  surprisingly hard. I am literally shaking from the test right now as I am typing this blog.  I have to admit, that when I was looking at the instructions before starting, I was thinking to myself.. well this doesn’t look too bad. I have since then realized that sure, its not that bad… if you are just doing one of those exercises, not all of them in a row with only enough break to get ready for the next portion!  The only portion of this test I was happy about was the speed squats, I bet ill be able to do better later on, but last months challenge really set me up for those, without last month, I might have only made it to 20!

My results of the fitness test were :

1. SPEED SQUATS – 37
2. HIGH KNEES – 75
3. PUSH UPS – 11
4. SQUAT JUMPS – 21
5. TRICEP DIPS – 15
6. BURPEES – 8
7. ALTERNATING LUNGES – 18
8. ELBOW PLANK – 25 seconds

 

Good Luck and see you tomorrow!

XXOO,

Mira

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Joyce on October 7, 2013 at 1:58 pm

    One fit test done! My numbers aren’t great and I found this tough but it’s done. I didn’t do elbow plank correctly. I did it as on floor then up then back to floor; I didn’t hold the position. My push ups number is probably high but I did with knees on the floor. It took me a long time to set up as I didn’t know how to do some of these and read through them but then with the timer on I didn’t quite remember how they were done! LOL! Also wasn’t sure how to set the Interval Timer App! Oh well, all done for today!

    Like

    Reply

    • I had help today. I also had to read the instructions and print off a copy to use during the fittest. Don’t worry too much about your results today, its just a starting point. Now we just work on improving them. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  2. Posted by Joyce on October 7, 2013 at 10:49 pm

    Yeah improving sounds great! I can’t get any worse! LOL!

    Like

    Reply

  3. I’m done – my numbers are:
    SS 46
    HK 85
    PU 24
    SJ 31
    TD 17 – this one was tough for me – definitely room to improve here
    Bur 10 – so out of breath from the TD – tough one again
    AL 21
    EP 50 seconds – I’ve been doing the 30 day plank challenge since Oct 1 – really helped here.

    I think I might have been better had I not had an hour soccer practice right before, but still – always room to improve. Can’t wait until the numbers go UP!!!

    Kim

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

