I like sausage

Well if that title didn’t get some attention.. I’m not sure what will.  Since this is not a crazy exotic blog, I can only mean one thing! FOOD. Nomnomnom!

Have you ever read the packaging for breakfast sausages? There are so many added ingredients. I used to think it was basically pork in a tube… but they are full of sugar, soy protein isolate, wheat etc! why do you need wheat in a sausage? FILLER!

So today, I am going to attempt to make my own sausages. Just meat and spices!

Since I really have no idea how to make them on my own, I set out to Google and based on the picture and if i had most of the ingredients, I have chosen to follow the following recipe as seen on PrimalPalate.com

Ingredients for 4ppl

  • 1 lb Ground Pork
  • 1 tsp Fennel (i do not have any fennel… so hopefully its OK without it)
  • 1 tsp Garlic
  • 1 tsp Paprika
  • 1/2 tsp Black Pepper
  • 1/2 tsp Sage
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 2 Tbsp Coconut Oil, Organic
  • 1/4 tsp Cayenne Pepper ( I’m using hot sauce instead because I thought i had some… but don’t :(… close enough right? )
  • 1/4 tsp White Pepper

Directions

  1. Combine pork, garlic, and all spices in a mixing bowl, mixing until it reaches an even consistency.
  2. Form pork mixture into 2-ounce patties (approximately 8 patties).
  3. Heat a skillet to medium heat with 1 tablespoon of coconut oil per 4 patties.
  4. Cook the patties for approximately 3–4 minutes per side.
  5. Each side should be golden, and the center of the patties should no longer be pink.

IMG_0200 IMG_6361IMG_6824  IMG_2528

As you can see by the large amount of sausage patties… not only did I make them a bit smaller ( I really like things that are bite size) but i also double the recipe so I could freeze some for easy breakfasts… or snacks 😀 They are pretty good. I really like sausages with ketchup… I guess i need to make some Paleo ketchup soon!

XXOO,

Mira

Leave a Reply

