Jalapeno BBQ Sauce

One of the harder things to live without when changing over to the paleo way of eating, is sauces. The mass produced, readily available sauces are full of nasty ingredients, and while they ” taste so good” they are not very good for you.  So a few months back, you might remember the post I made on preparing my own ketchup ( click here for the post). It was a big success in my house, I loved it, and my ketchup hating hubby also liked it!

So now I am going to attempt Jalapeno BBQ Sauce as seen on Paleo Pot.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of tomato sauce. 
  • 1/2 cup of beef stock.
  • 3 jalapenos, chopped or slice. Remove seeds and stems to reduce the heat level. ( I only bought two as I have never bought… and i got scared and only used 1 1/3 of them)
  • 1 small red onion, diced.
  • 1/3 cup of apple cider vinegar.
  • 1 small can of tomato paste, about 1/3 to 1/2 cup.
  • 1 tbsp of Spanish smoked paprika. ( i only have regular, so hopefully that works too!)
  • 3 cloves of garlic, chopped. (I also substituted some garlic powder for this)

Directions

  1. Combine all of your ingredients in a medium sauce pan and stir well. 
  2. Bring mixture to a boil then reduce heat to a very low simmer.
  3. Simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. For a thicker sauce, reduce/simmer for longer.
  4. Blend your sauce in the pot using an immersion blender, or just use a regular food processor or blender.
  5. Enjoy!

So, I started making this. The hubby came home, and asked if I was still up for date night?! EEEEEKKKK! I forgot we were going out! But thats ok, I have enough time to whip up some bbq chicken ( with other bbq sauce) and some salad for dinner all while finishing up this bbq sauce. What this all means is that I will just have to BBQ again tomorrow! I will never complain about that!

ImageImage ImageImage

XXOO,

Mira

Leave a Reply

