Another night of fail… but at least I learned from it!

Failing has been a common occurrence the last few days.  With Fathers day celebration and our trip out to Prince Edward Island. In this post I just want to point out my failure and my realization.

On PEI, we went to a drive in theatre.  I haven’t been to one for at least 15 years… probably closer to 20.  I think the nostalgia got me to, because when i went up to the canteen for our two free small sodas ( which would also be a fail.. but a much smaller one) This is what I came back with….

Image

Yes.. that is an Extra Large popcorn and some type of candy coated chocolate yumminess(resembling fat smarties, but not as good)

Now… For the first few bites these were very good.  So good in fact that i felt like stuffing it crazily in my face. I didn’t. But I did munch on a good 1/4 of the bag. And shortly I started to not feel very well.  So i did the wise thing. I stopped eating them. Regretting the fact that I even purchased it in the first place.  I had a bag of sliced apples in by bag and opted in eating those for the rest of the movie.  Even Darcy noticed that they didn’t make him feel too great and wished we just stuck to eating our fruit as a snack.

Once we got back to our cabin, I noticed that I had the fist really bad stomach ache I have had since starting my paleo eating.

So my big realization. I shouldn’t consume corn! Perhaps this has been my problem for the last few years?  And sure, popcorn, corn on the cob, and tostitos are so good. But just maybe, I shouldn’t eat something that 1. looks the same going in as it does going out. 2. has been majorly genetically modified. Nothing seems natural about that.

So I think that, even on my paleo cheat nights, I will avoid corn.  The pain and discomfort just isn’t worth it.  Not when I could be cheating with vodka or ice cream!

 

Leave a Reply

