Coconut oil

I am not… And have never been a fan of coconut. Sure, I like the body spray tropic scent…. Reminds me of summer time and vacations… But even I can only handle so much of that.

Since starting a more paleo style of eating, I keep seeing coconut in everything. So I went out and bought some coconut oil from balk barn. I tried to use it a few times, but the smell was overwhelming to me. So much so that I couldn’t… Perhaps just wouldn’t eat the food it was cooked with. I’m a fairly picky eater, and even if the food is fine, if I somehow get it in my head that something is wrong, or I might not like it… I just cannot eat it.

Yesterday I bought some different coconut oil. The thing that really sold me was that it claimed to be aroma free. I was definitely curious. How could it not have a smell? So tonight I used it! And it’s true to its word! I can’t smell a thing, no taste either. So, I think I jut found my olive oil replacement for cooking.

20130615-204116.jpg

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cindy Thomson on June 15, 2013 at 9:41 pm

    I have a fantastic Papaya Black Bean Salsa recipe that uses coconut oil. We got the recipe from a naturopath. Lot’s of chopping. Let me know if you are interested and I’ll share the recipe with you.

    Like

    Reply

    • I would be if it wasn’t for the beans…. Beans are a no no for paleo. Too bad I really like them lol. Thanks for the offer, perhaps someday! 😉

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

