Spoiled lessons

I have learned a valuable lesson today.

NEVER AGAIN will I buy meat on special. I know with Paleo you are supposed to buy better meats, grass fed, etc etc… However when you live in a place like me, that option isn’t always available and if it is, it’s not very monetarily feasible.

I bought some riblets on special last week and tossed them in the freezer. I put the in the fridge yesterday to thaw.

Today I made up a sauce, took the ribs out and tossed them in the oven.

At first I thought, hmmm… Is the smell off? I thought I was probably imagining it and was just beg paranoid. HOWEVER… When I tossed them in the oven, it was like my whole house exploded with raunchy overpowering stench.

My small headache that I had has exploded into a full blown, eye aching, pounding, I just want to squeeze my head in a vice grip kind of headache. Darcy being the awesome guy he is, took them out of the oven and right outside to the trash and we opened up the windows. The smell is still lingering.

I am definitely now going to take more care in purchasing my meats. And will be checking the packaging dates as well. And if its on special…. I will walk away! I do not need a repeat performance of today.

Now what am I going to have for dinner?

Leave a Reply

